The Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) Scholarships and Awards Committee has selected Janet Mumford as the recipient of the 2017 APALA Travel Award.

Janet Mumford is a teacher librarian at Ecole Henry Anderson Elementary School, a kindergarten to 7th grade school in Richmond, British Columbia. She works with a significant number of children and families from Asian and Pacific Islander backgrounds. She currently serves on the 2017 Caldecott Committee.

APALA provides a forum for discussing problems of APA librarians and for the exchange of ideas between APA librarians and other librarians. APALA also supports and encourages library services to APA communities, recruits and mentors APA librarians in the library/information science professions, seeks funding for scholarships in library/information science master’s programs, and provides a vehicle enabling APA librarians to cooperate with other associations and organizations with similar or allied interests.

The selection committee is chaired by Cynthia Mari Orozco and Melanee Vicedo and is composed of Hannah Rainey, Melody Leung, Miriam Tuliao, Jessica Tai, Jennifer Shellman, and Christina Nhek.

Past Travel Grant Winners

Jennifer Shellman (2016)
Shanna Shiah (2015)
Gerie Ventura (2014)
Linda Nguyen (2013)
Catherine Phan (2012)
Cynthia Mari Orozco (2011)
Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada (2010)
Sally Ma (2009)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *