APALA Thanks Vendor Sponsors For Their Support

APALA is a professional organization that addresses the needs of Asian and Pacific American (APA) librarians and those who serve APA communities. As an ethnic affiliate of the American Library Association, our members come from diverse library backgrounds including school, academic, public, and special libraries. By choosing to partner with APALA, sponsors provide funding for scholarships, conference programs, literary awards, and professional development opportunities for our members.

We would like to thank the following companies:

2013 Bronze Level


Sponsor of the APALA President’s Program at 2013 ALA Conference: Pushing the Boundaries: Presentation and Representation of LGBTQ Members of/by Asian/Pacific American Writers, Authors

Founded in 2000, Alexander Street Press specializes in publishing large-scale and high quality digital collections in the humanities and social sciences. In 2012 they partnered with Asia Pacific Films to create Asian Studies in Video.

Visit Alexander Street Press at: http://alexanderstreet.com



Sponsor of the APALA Emerging Leaders Scholarship

Founded in 1842, Springer publishes information in the fields of science, technology, and medicine. Their major platforms include SpringerLink and Springer eBooks. Their ebooks are DRM free!

Visit Springer at: http://www.springer.com



Founded in 1880, Elsevier is the world’s leading provider of science, technology, and health information. Examples of their products include ScienceDirect, SciVerse, Scopus, and MD Consult. Elsevier is a founding publisher of global programs that provide free or low-cost access to science and health information in developing countries.

Visit Elsevier at: http://www.elsevier.com



Founded in 1965, SAGE is a leading international publisher of journals, books, and electronic media in the areas of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.

Visit Sage at: http://www.sagepub.com



APALA T-shirt Logo Contest (Deadline Extended to May 20th)

APALA is on the lookout for fabulously talented individuals to participate in a T-shirt Logo Contest!

Are you a creative individual with a knack for creating eye-catching designs? Can you develop a clever library tagline? Would you like to see your design modeled by APALA members and supporters nationwide? Take a chance and show off your creative side! The winning design will receive a $100 gift card and one-year APALA membership.

Submission Guidelines:

  • Designs must incorporate the APALA logo (Logo available via email.)
  • Designs for both the front and back of the T-shirt are welcome
  • Designs should appeal to a broad audience and be marketable to all library supporters
  • Multiple submission will be accepted
  • File format should be in PNG (Portable Network Graphics) between 100 to 300 DPI


  • APALA welcomes all submissions
  • An appointed jury will select the winning design
  • Submit your designs and questions to Varaxy Yi <varaxy@gmail.com>


The designer of the winning logo receives a $100 gift card and a one-year APALA membership. Sales from the winning T-shirt help support APALA scholarships and grants.

Deadline:  Extended to May 20, 2013

Thank you,
APALA Fundraising Committee

Download: PDF of APALA 2013 T-shirt Design Contest Flyer


REFORMA/APALA Light-Brarians Need Your Support to Finish the Race

REFORMA OC Chapter and APALA members are participating in Scholarship Fundraising Run/Walk on June 14th 2013 at the Neon Splash Dash 5K in Irvine, California. We will not be able to finish the race without your donation to the Scholarship Fund. Please make your pledge at:

APALA: http://www.apalaweb.org/contribute
OC REFORMA: http://reformaoc.org/index.html

Every $$$ you donate will give us the boost we need on this grueling 5K Run/Dash!

Thank you for your support!


Congratulations, Incoming APALA Executive Board Members!

Congratulations to our incoming Executive Board members, who will be serving under the leadership of incoming President Eugenia Beh. All terms will begin after the 2013 ALA Annual Conference.

President: Eugenia Beh
Vice-President/President-Elect: Eileen K. Bosch
Treasurer : Dora Ho
Secretary : Janet Clarke
Member-at-Large (2013-2015): Anna Coats
Member-at-Large (2013-2015): Sarah Jeong
Member-at-Large (2012-2014): Tina Chan
Member-at-Large (2012-2014): Alanna Aiko Moore
Immediate Past-President: Jade Alburo

Nominating Committee

Sandy Wee, Chair
Michelle Baildon
Florante Ibanez

Reminder: Vote in the 2013 APALA Executive Board Election!

Dear APALA Members,

The 2013 APALA Executive Board Election is open now. By now, you should have received an email regarding the election with a specific link which directs you to your ballot. This link is connected to your email. If you have not received it and are an APALA member or life member in good standing as of March 1st, please contact Maria Pontillas, our membership coordinator (membership@apalaweb.org).


Nominations Committee
Sandy Wee, Chair
Michelle Baildon
Florante Ibanez

« Older Entries Next Entries »