The APALA JCLC Travel Award will provide $500.00 each to support attendance at the 2nd National Joint Conference of Librarians of Color Conference.  APALA will fund four members to attend the conference.


Applicant must be a current APALA member in good standing.

Applicant must be a citizen or permanent resident of the United States or Canada.

How to Apply

Complete the APALA Travel Grant online application by May 18, 2012.

Selection Procedures and Timeline

  • The APALA Research and Travel Award Committee will select and notify the recipient by June 8, 2012. The Travel Award check will be distributed at the ALA Annual Conference.
  • The recipient must attend the 2012 JCLC programs. S/he must use the scholarship for registration and/or travel expenses. In the event the recipient fails to attend the 2012 JCLC, the scholarship will be rescinded and the recipient will be asked to return the funds in full amount to APALA within one month after JCLC.
  •  The recipient will submit a brief report to the APALA Research & Travel Award Committee after JCLC discussing what they gained from attendance and how the Award assisted them. This report will be due by December 1, 2012 and will be published on the APALA website.

Administrative Procedures

The APALA Travel Award shall be administered in accordance with APALA’s by-laws.

In the event that no applicants satisfy the criteria, no travel award will be given.

Members of the Scholarships & Grants Committee are ineligible for any of the awards.  If a Scholarships & Grants Committee member would like to apply for an award, they need to step aside from the selection committee for that specific award.  An APALA member who receives any APALA grant/award may not receive another grant/award in the same year.

Contact Information

If you have questions or need additional information, please contact the APALA Research & Travel Award Committee co-chairs, Safi Safiullah at ssafiullah@slcpl.org or Gayatri Singh at gasingh@ucsd.edu.

The selection committee is composed of Shalini Channapatna, Tassanee Chitcharoen, Valeria Molteni, Jina Park, Safi Safiullah , Gayatri Singh, and Michelle Wu.