Literature Award Guidelines


Literature Awards Guidelines (PDF)


The goal is to honor and recognize individual works related to Asian/Pacific American experiences (either historical or contemporary) or Asian/Pacific American cultures.


The awards will be announced at the 2015 ALA Midwinter Meeting in Chicago. Winners of the APALA Literature Award will be given the award seal during the 2015 ALA Annual APALA Literature Award Ceremony. The winner of each category will receive a plaque during the 2015 American Library Association Annual Conference in San Francisco, CA. A press release will be sent to various national publications. The Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature is now an annual event.

Eligible Works

  1. Works eligible must have had premier publication in 2013 and 2014 and must have been published for general commercial release in the U.S.
  2. The five award categories are:
    1. Adult Fiction
    2. Adult Nonfiction
    3. Youth Category
      • Children’s Literature
      • Young Adult Literature
    4. Picture Books
  3. Works should be related to Asian/Pacific American experiences (either historical or contemporary) or Asian/Pacific American cultures. Works should be written or illustrated by an Asian/Pacific American, but not limited to. The author or illustrator should have resident status in the United States or Canada.
  4. Works must have been published in the United States or one of its territories or Canada.
  5. Self-published works and exclusive Internet publications are not eligible.
  6. For fiction titles, anthologies or books containing the work of more than one author are not eligible.
  7. Works must be originally written in English.
  8. Works that have previously won other prizes or recognition are eligible.
  9. If no books are found to meet the selection criteria, no award will be given.
  10. Poetry and Graphic Novels will be eligible for consideration in either Adult or Youth categories: please determine which committee is appropriate for any Graphic Novel you wish to submit.

Entry of Works

  1. Nominated titles should be submitted to appropriate Award Committee before October 1, 2014 via the online entry form on the APALA website ( Entries may be submitted by an author, publisher, agent, publicist or individual. All entries received after October 1, 2014 will not be considered for the 2015 award.  
  2. The Literary Award Committee is not responsible for lost submissions.
  3. An author, publisher, publicist or agent may submit more than one entry per author, but not more than one entry per work.
  4. If possible, publishers should send a review copy to each of the committee members of the appropriate category.


Be Sociable, Share!