Picture Book Winner:

  • Ji-li Jiang. Red Kite, Blue Kite. Disney/Hyperion.

Picture Book Honor:

  • Marissa Moss. Barbed Wire Baseball, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu. Abrams.


Children’s Literature Winner:

  • Cynthia Kadohata. The Thing About Luck. Atheneum Books.

Children’s Literature Honor:

  • Josanne La Valley. The Vine Basket. Clarion Books.


Young Adult Literature:

  • Leza Lowitz and Shogo Oketani. Jet Black and the Ninja Wind. Tuttle Publishing.

Young Adult Literature Honor:

  • Suzanne Kamata. Gadget Girl: The Art of Being Invisible. GemmaMedia.


Adult Fiction Winner:

  • Ruth Ozeki. A Tale for the Time Being. Viking.

Adult Fiction Honor:

  • Jennifer Cody Epstein. The Gods of Heavenly Punishment. W. W. Norton.


Adult Non-Fiction Winner:

  • Cindy I-Fen Cheng. Citizens of Asian America: Democracy and Race during the Cold War. New York University Press.

Adult Non-Fiction Honor Book:

  • Cecilia M. Tsu. Garden of the World: Asian Immigrants and the Making of Agriculture in California’s Santa Clara Valley. Oxford University Press.