Winners of the 2013 Asian/Pacific American Awards for Literature, which promote Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and are awarded based on literary and artistic merit, have been selected by APALA.

The Awards are given in five categories, with Winner and Honor books selected in each category. The winners of the 2013 awards are:

The Picture Book Category:

Winner: “Good Fortune in a Wrapping Cloth” written by Joan Schoettler and illustrated by Jessica Lanan, published by Shen’s Books.
Honor: “A Path of Stars” written by Anne Sibley O’Brien, published by Charlesbridge.

Children’s Literature Category:

Winner: “Chengli and the Silk Road Caravan” written by Hildi Kang and published by Tanglewood Publishing.
Honor: “The Shark King” written by Kikuo Johnson and published by Toon Books.

The Young Adult Literature Category:

Winner: “Tina’s Mouth: An Existential Comic Diary” written by Keshni Kashyap and published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.
Honor: “Ichiro” written by Ryan Inzana and published Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

The Adult Fiction Category:

Winner: “The Collective” written by Don Lee and published by W. W. Norton & Company.
Honor: “Drifting House” written by Kris Lee and published by Viking Penguin.

The Adult Non-Fiction Category:

Winner: “Third Asiatic Invasion” written by Rick Baldoz and published by New York Univeristy Press.
Honor: “Forbidden Citizens” by Martin Gold and published by the Capitol Net.

Winner and Honor books were chosen from titles published from October 2010 – September 2012. The winners will each receive an award plaque at the APALA Award Ceremony on Sunday, June 30, 2013 during the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, IL.

For complete press release, see page 11 of ALA Cognotes, January 26, 2013:

To read the poem “The Oscars of the Library World (2013)” by Janet Wong in tribute to this year’s award winners:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *